/ Home » Science » Introduction


The Nigeria Prize for Science

The Nigeria Prize for Science celebrates excellence in scientific breakthroughs and honours scientists from anywhere in the world, who help find solutions to a local or ‘Nigerian’ problem, as defined and advertised by the Advisory Board for the prize.

The Prize is an annual prize aimed at stimulating the advancement and application of science and technology. It is expected that the quest for a prestigious prize in science will improve science and technology in Nigeria, resolve issues that are germane to development of the country and help improve the standards of living.

The prize is administered on behalf of Nigeria LNG Limited by the Advisory Board for Science. The current Advisory Board is chaired by Professor Barth Nnaji, internationally-acclaimed professor of robotics, Nigeria’s former Minister of Science and Technology, and former Minister of Power. Other members of the Board are Chief Dr. Nike Akande, a two-time minister and former President of the Lagos Chamber of Commerce and Industry; and Professor Yusuf Abubakar, a professor of Animal Breeding and Quantitative Genetics and the Coordinator of the Agriculture Group, R & D Standing Committee, at the Tertiary Education Trust Fund.

When an entry has been found worthy of winning the Prize, the name of the winner (s) is announced in a Press Conference in September, and the winner(s) is rewarded in a Grand Award Ceremony in October, commemorating the first export of LNG cargo by NLNG on October 9, 1999.


Implementation of The Nigeria Prize for Science

The overall prize implementation is the responsibility of the Advisory Board, supported by the secretariat which is located within NLNG. They are responsible for:

  1. Overall governance and administration of the prize.
  2. Appointment and supervision of judges and the adjudication process.
  3. Approval of the outcome of the adjudication process.